school (1)

 Adventure Club at Oakview (NEW FOR 2015-16!)

Adventure Club is available at Oakview for both before and after school childcare. This is for Oakview students only. While Adventure Club will still be at Gateway, there will no longer be a bus running from Oakview to Gateway. If you attend Oakview, you will attend Adventure Club at Oakview. For questions, or to enroll in Adventure Club's before and/or after school programs, please contact Erin Cuthbert, Adventure Club/Little Wings Director, at 989-227-5311or email her at Information regarding Adventure Club can be found on the district website .

Breakfast at Oakview

Did you know that Oakview serves breakfast every regular school day? We serve breakfast from 7:50 a.m. - 8:05 a.m. in the cafeteria. The cost is $1.40. For those students who qualify for reduced lunch the price is $.30. Students in our free lunch program eat breakfast for free.  Breakfast consists of many choices. You can find the menu at the bottom of the lunch menu.


Parent-teacher conferences are Tuesday, October 13 and Wednesday, October 14 from 4:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. Confirmation letters with your date and time will go home with students soon.

Homecoming Parade

It's that time already! Oakview will be walking in this year's Homecoming Parade which is Friday, October 2 at 5:00. Parade lineup is at 4:30 at the corner of Clinton & Lincoln Streets. Parents, students walking in the parade MUST be accompanied by a parent.

 Infinite Campus Parent Portal

To sign up for the Infinite Campus Parent Portal, please go to the St. Johns Public Schools website, at Click on the Quicklinks tab at the top right of the screen, and select Parent Portal from the menu. There is a link to a form to complete for portal access on the portal login screen. Click on the link to request your activation key, or to have your password reset, if you already have a portal account. Your activation key will be emailed to you, along with instructions on what to do with the key. Please allow up to 2 business days to receive your key. Click HERE for a link to the form.


Read our latest newsletter here .

Scholastic Book Fair

The fall Book Fair is coming! The book fair will be open October 9-15. Students will be able to shop during their library times. The Book Fair will also be open during parent-teacher conferences on Tuesday, October 13 and Wednesday, October 14 from 4:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. Online ordering will be available by clicking here .

School Pictures

Picture day is Wednesday, October 7. Extra forms are available in the office.

Volunteering at Oakview

Would you like to help our in your child's classroom? Do you have plans to go on a field trip? Volunteers are require to complete a background check form, which has recently been updated. We also must have a copy of your current driver's license to submit with that form. You can find the form here .



Friday, October 2 - Homecoming Parade

Wednesday, October 7 - School pictures

Monday, October 12 - PTO Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

Friday, October 16 - NO SCHOOL

Monday, October 19 -  ½ day professional development; students dismissed in morning

Tuesday, November 17 - Picture re-takes

Wednesday, November 25 - ½ day professional development; students dismissed in morning 

Thursday, November 26 & Friday, November 27 - Thanksgiving recess/NO SCHOOL

Monday, December 21 - Friday, January 1 - Winter Break/NO SCHOOL

Monday, January 18 - Professional development/NO SCHOOL

Friday, January 22 - NO SCHOOL

Monday, February 15 -  Professional development/NO SCHOOL

Friday, March 11 - Early release

Monday, March 14 - Records Day/NO SCHOOL

Thursday, March 24 - ½ day professional development; students dismissed in morning

Friday, March 25 - Good Friday/NO SCHOOL

Monday, April 4 - Friday, April 8 - Spring Break/NO SCHOOL

Friday, April 29 - NO SCHOOL

Monday, May 30 - Memorial Day/NO SCHOOL

Thursday, June 9 - Last day of school for Preschool only

Wednesday, June 15 - LAST DAY OF SCHOOL


 PDF Document2015-16 School Year Calendar

PDF DocumentGuidelines for Keeping Sick Kids Home

PDF DocumentHomecoming Window Painting Contest

PDF DocumentLunch money deposit slip

PDF DocumentMain Roads Only Explanation & Bus Stops/Schedule

Word DocumentSchools of Choice Form 2015-2016

PDF DocumentSchool Improvement Plan 2014-15

PDF DocumentSeptember - January Lunch Menu Cycle

Annual Education Report

PDF Document 2014 AER Letter

PDF Document2014 AER Report


PDF DocumentOakview South Handbook


Webpage Administrator - Lisa Blumenthal


80s1 80s1


80s2 80s2


80s3 80s3


80s4 80s4




Zoo Zoo


zoo2 zoo2


smith2 smith2


5thgradereads 5thgradereads

Contact us

Oakview South Elementary

1400 South Clinton

 St. Johns, Michigan 48879

 (989) 227-4500; 989-227-4599 (FAX)

 (989) 227-4544 Attendance

Mrs. Jayaraman, Principal

(989) 227-4501


Ms. Blumenthal, Secretary

(989) 227-4502


School Day: 8:05 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

School Office Hours: 7:30 - 4:00 Monday-Friday