St. Johns Public Schools Board of Education

The publicly elected seven-member Board of Education is responsible for setting policy for the district.

The Board of Education conducts its business meetings at St. Johns High School,  501 W. Sickles St. All meetings will begin at 7:00 p.m. unless otherwise specified.
Meeting date, time and location may be modified as necessary throughout the year. Please verify this information prior to the meeting on each meeting’s Public Notice.

Upon request, the District shall make reasonable accommodations for a disabled person to be able to participate in these meetings. Contact the Superintendent's office at 989-227-4002.

Photo of Superintendent Mark Palmer

   Superintendent of Schools                                    

Mr. Mark Palmer
501 W. Sickels  St. St. Johns, MI 48879
989-227-4050 
palmerm@sjredwings.org

 

Photo of School Board President Rick Drabeck

   President of SJPS Board of education                

Mr. Rick Drabek 
drabekr@sjredwings.org 

Term expires 12/2022

 

Photo of SJPS Vice President Robert Watson

   Vice President of SJPS Board of Education      

Mr. Robert Watson
watsonr@sjredwings.org

Term expires 12/2022

 

Photo of SJPS Secretary Tim Jackson

  Secretary of SJPS Board of Education               

Mr. Timothy Jackson  
jacksont@sjredwings.org

Term expires 12/2024

 

Photo of SJPS Board Treasurer Alan Nelson

   Treasurer of SJPS Board of Education              

Mr. Alan Nelson
nelsona@sjredwings.org

Term expires 12/2026

 

Photo of Matthew Boak SJPS Trustee

   Trustee of SJPS Board of Education                   

Mr. Matthew Boak 
boakm@sjredwings.org

Term expires 12/2026

 

Photo of Scott Darragh SJPS Trustee

   Trustee of SJPS Board of Education                   

Mr. Scott Darragh
darraghs@sjredwings.org

Term expires 12/2026

 

   Trustee of SJPS Board of Education                   

Mrs. Kathie Elliott
elliottk@sjredwings.org

Term expires 12/2024

 

 St. Johns High School Student Representative

Laura Schloegl

Term expires 06/2023

 

MISSION STATEMENT

St. Johns Public Schools will provide an educational experience that prepares all students to become individuals who think critically, live purposefully, lead responsibly, communicate persuasively, and serve others generously.

VISION

To become schools that embrace change through pursuit, evaluation and celebration of new knowledge and skills.  To provide every student with the choice to undertake advanced learning without remediation. 

PHILOSOPHY

Education is a lifelong pursuit for every individual and the shared responsibility of the home, school and community.

CORE VALUES

Integrity, Trust, Respect, Accountability, High Expectation and Service

WE HOLD THAT:

  • Every individual has worth and dignity.

  • Every individual is unique.

  • Equal opportunity for learning must be available to all students.

  • Intellectual curiosity, academic skills, teamwork, and perseverance are essential for all learners to succeed.

  • The rapidly changing world demands educators to cultivate a diverse approach to learning so students are prepared to face new challenges.

Maintained by CP 22-23